Meredith Design

Gaming takeover – Drell gone wrong

Posted on: January 12, 2011


I just threw this together last night. Literally, my head was stuck on this image like broken record. I haven’t touched my acrylics in months. They’re so scary. So instead of using something nice and be all worried about messing it up, I used cardboard… low and behold, I like it. It’s not great, there are several things seriously wrong with it, but in all it’s faults I can honestly say I’m proud of myself. Now that I’m done patting myself on the back about it, I need to talk about what’s wrong with it.

Being in acrylics, I tried to work very fast. Gobs of glazing liquid to keep things moist, water to blend a little, and limited colors were my allies. I spent maybe 20 mins sketching it out. I knew exactly what I was going for so it wasn’t hard. Then it was like a race horse out of the gate. I’ve never blended and mixed that fast in my life. As soon as I was done, I was in a state of wtf. I thought it was stupid. But I set it aside and now it’s grown on me. Unfortunately, the nose should look like two nostrils on each side, the skin was supposed to be more green, the eyes were maybe a bit too large, and the face doesn’t come off as very masculine. If you notice anything else glaring, let me know. I’m not going to mess with this piece anymore but I’d like to know for future reference.

A little background on the Drell: they’re a race of reptilian like people in the game Mass Effect 2. Great game, greater diversity conversation tool. There’s so much interspecies stuff going on, it helps to put our petty differences as humans into perspective. Obviously, my painting looks nothing like a Drell. This is on purpose as I was going for a more humanoid looking Drell. Maybe the offspring of an interspecies love affair or something. Whatever the case, this is technically fan art as far as I’m concerned.

I’d like to try my hand at some of the other species on my remaining cardboard. I know I should probably use my good stuff but… I’m just not ready yet.

With love – M

 

1 Response to "Gaming takeover – Drell gone wrong"

Those are wonderful post! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

