Meredith Design

Botanical watercolor

Posted on: October 6, 2010


Plants are one of those things that seem to be a love/hate relationship for me when painting. They can be so beautiful but, in my humble opinion, the devil is in the details. The closer I look, the more I see. The harder I try to recreate it, the more confusing and less beautiful my version of the image becomes. BUT if I ever had to choose between painting a beautiful face or a beautiful plant, I would choose the plant. There’s something about it that can be so other-worldly, so magical.

These images are of a plant piece I just finished today. It’s been sitting in a corner of my room for months. I just couldn’t wrap my brain around all those little details, why they’re so important. What do they really add to the piece? I know, I know, they’re vital to it’s very existence. Unfortunately, I don’t yet have the skill or the patiences to work on one piece for the length required to fit in all those bits.

Watercolor on watercolor paper in 5 hours.

I hope you’re able to enjoy it a little bit anyway. I most certainly enjoyed playing at it.

With love – M

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 530 other followers

Gravatar: Proof of Human Origin

