Meredith Design

TribeWanted

Posted on: June 28, 2010


Wow. Am I the only one that thinks this is one of the best ideas we humans have had in a while? I caught a couple of episodes of TribeWanted on Nat Geo and I was totally hooked. It encompasses so many of my most beloved things. Sand, sun, surf, hammocks, local food, and most importantly: self sustainability. Even if they aren’t 100% self sustainable, there’s a lot of effort in that direction. I hope this idea of ‘eco-tourism’ becomes infectious. And let’s face it – it’s way cheaper that way.

My excitement doesn’t end there because I have found out that I am lucky enough to have been paired with a significant other that shares my views on vacationing. Don’t get me wrong, I love expensive food, fancy night clubs, and plush hotel rooms but…well it just feels so superficial sometimes. I like to be pampered as much as the next girl but I would rather enjoy a rougher(meaning different from my usual activities, not that I’m getting beat up or anything) vacation so that I enjoy being home in my bed that much more.

Of course, there was no short supply of sceptics when this venture first started out. Keep in mind, that article was made way back in 2006 when this project was just getting on its feet. The most important part is the 2007 update: “Therefore much of this article’s information specific to Tribewanted Ltd. is no longer valid. We will not remove the article, however, because it is valid in the original context that it was presented, and will serve to show people in the future how the Tribewanted project successfully evolved from its shaky beginnings.”

So we can rest easy that it’s no longer thought of as a scam. I absolutely understand why people would be hesitant to put so much money into project when it’s first starting but these boys obviously had a pretty good idea of what they were doing. The best part? They weren’t much older than I am now when they started this venture.

All I want now is to swim in the sea…

With love – M

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 530 other followers

Gravatar: Proof of Human Origin

