Meredith Design

Finally Kanzashi

Posted on: June 27, 2010


Above you shall find my little side crafty items that I’ve been working on since January 2010. Not these exact ones, of course. There were plenty of failures on the way but I think these are nice enough to display. I’ve got quite a few more to take pictures of now, which is kind of exciting. I’m not used to making things like this by hand. My lovely friend Nathalie was nice enough to showcase my hairpieces for me.

If there’s some interest in them, I might try selling some on Etsy but for now you’ll have to throw me a message if one catches your eye. As a refresh, kanzashi are the flowers that geisha and maiko wear made out of folded fabric. My flowers are a little stylized but the idea is the same.

On the job front, I’m not ‘hired’ with The Creative Group after an interview with them in Philly. It was an adventure getting to and from there since I didn’t want to pay for parking. When is the train not an adventure? Aside from that, I recommend trying to get an interview with them if you’re local. It’s been a good experience so far. I’ve had other friends work them before and they also say good things. Even though my hopes are high for this agency, I have begun to extend my net to the rest of the country. Maybe my overqualified, under-experienced self will be in need elsewhere, if not here.

With love – M

Leave a Reply

