Meredith Design

Portraiture from the Subaru Cherry Blossom Festival

Posted on: April 16, 2010


I might throw some more shots from the festival, the less professional and more fun ones, onto Facebook at some point. For now, I give you some shots of my good friends Nathalie who was nice enough to let me play with makeup on her. The festival was loads of fun and I highly recommend it.

I received another email from that recruiter I mentioned in the previous email. I had told myself to just forget about, so I didn’t get excited only to be let down when I never heard from her again. But lo, here she’s come again. I have to admit I am a bit more excited now.

Several people have asked me what exactly kanzashi or かんざし or 簪 looks like. Well this lovely lady does a top-notch job on the fabric flower side of it. Keep in mind, what she does is usually very traditional, keeping to the patterns and styles used in Japan since the beginning, we’re talking before 400 BCE. My kanzashi are quite a bit more modern looking because I use a different folding technique. As I finish some and get some photos up, I’ll be sure to start explaining more of my methods…or at least the ones that work.

With love – M

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 530 other followers

Gravatar: Proof of Human Origin

