Meredith Design

Keeping busy in the low times

Posted on: April 5, 2010


Without a doubt, the last 10 or so months since my graduation from college has been the oddest time in my life. Not because of lots of crazy things happened. Instead, nothing happened. I had an interview here, a phone call there, some nibbles and so on but no one bit me. It was strange. I was so self-assured that I would land that design job or be surrounded by eager clients. Not the reality. After a summer spent searching and a fall/Christmas season spent in retail, I started again. Still the same, though more often do I get nibbled and tugged. Now I’m teaching art classes for an after-school program in the non-profit sector. It’s interesting and never boring … but I’m no teacher. And I don’t expect to become one over night, nor do I want to, so I simply try to keep the kids entertained and inspired. There’s enough work in that anyway.

The most interesting part since leaving the retail job after Christmas has been how I’ve been passing the time. With a job from a client coming sparsely, I turned to bettering myself instead. Learning how to use Copic sketch markers, watercolor, acrylic, knitting, and so on. The most exciting new skill has been combining different styles of kanzashi, the Japanese art if folding fabric to make flowers. Each square is folded into an individual petal. Then it’s attached to the other petals in a tight circle and POOF! instant flower. Well, maybe not instant but you get the idea. I don’t know why I’ve taken to it so well. I’ve never been very good at sewing and I’ve always been a clumsy person when it comes to working in small things. It such a thrilling sensation to walk through a fabric store now and just feel everything. The satins, silks, cottons, taffetas, sheers, all with so many possibilities. And I could go on for days about the color combinations. Being a graphic designer, one of the first things you learn is the power and influence that colors have on each other and on yourself.  Everyday I get up and instead of pulling my knees to my chest and worrying about what I’m going to do without a job, I create. It’s as simple as that, just create.

Those are me parting words for my first WordPress blog. Do not dwell on what you wish you could be doing or where you wish you were. Focus on what you can do, take what you have around you and build something. Even if you don’t become a millionaire off of it. Just enjoy it for what it is.

With love- M

Leave a Reply

